IMTC Home Page

Betsy Gillette
IMTC, Secretary
Stacey Bender/Bob Rinklin
Bender-Hammerling Group

IMTC honors major achievements in Multimedia Communications industry

Leadership and Service Awards Presented at IMTC Fall Forum

San Ramon, CA (December 18, 2000) — The International Multimedia Telecommunications Consortium (IMTC) presented its Leadership Awards and Service Awards that honor significant contributions to the multimedia industry by individuals, companies or organizations. The awards ceremony was held during the IMTC Fall Forum in San Antonio, Texas. The IMTC Awards recognize efforts to create innovative environments that foster collaborative contributions to product types, protocol profiles and service offerings.

The IMTC Leadership Awards recipients are:

  • Robert Gill, Chairman, President and CEO of MobileForce Technologies;
  • Dr. Allen Korenjak, a pioneering developer of Indeoä digital video technology at Intel and DVIä technology at RCA’s David Sarnoff Research Center;
  • Dr. Norman D. Kenyon of the United Kingdom who created a framework for audiovisual multimedia services;
  • Dr. Sakae Okubo, Fellow Researcher of the Telecommunications Advancement Organization (TAO) of Japan at Waseda Research Institute; and
  • C.J. “Neil” Starkey, Distinguished Engineer at IBM and CTO at Databeam.

The IMTC also presented Service Awards to commend Greg Meyer, Program Manager of IP Telephony Architecture at Intel, and Jim Toga, Vice President of Operations and co-founder of eDail, for their outstanding efforts and service to the IMTC and the multimedia communications industry.

In presenting the awards, Matt Collier, president of IMTC and Vice President of Global Business Development at Polycom, Inc., said, “We are honoring individuals and organizations that played a pivotal role in our industry by making technology discoveries, creating products, building companies or developing services which continue to dramatically influence multimedia communications. Their vision, persistence and achievements accelerated development and deployment of new and extremely useful protocols, products, or services.”

The Leadership Award honored the following achievements:

  • Mr. Gill’s innovative leadership at MobileForce Technologies, Inc., the Topaz Group, Frontier Corporation, ConferTech International, Ball Corp. and Magnavox.
  • Dr. Kenyon’s contributions to the work on the Q4/XV Harmonization of audiovisual systems.
  • Dr. Korenjak for his pioneering innovations at Intel Corporation and RCA’s David Sarnoff Research Center and his role as chair of the Personal Conferencing Work Group and a member of the IMTC Board of Directors for fostering the merger of the two groups in 1995.
  • Dr. Okubo for his pioneering work on the Q3/XV Visual telephone systems, including videoconferencing and videophone. Dr. Okubo has also been involved in the international standardization of video coding and audiovisual communication systems since 1984 and has received numerous industry awards.
  • Mr. Starkey for his leadership roles in the development and promotion of open standards for multi-media conferencing. Also, he chaired the International Telecommunications Union committee responsible for defining data conferencing standards that resulted in development of the T.120 series of standards that are now used in millions of consumer products. He served three terms as President of the IMTC.

IMTC Service Awards recognized the contributions by:

  • Mr. Meyer, who has been actively involved with IMTC since 1995 chairing or co-chairing IMTC’s Data Conferencing Activity Group, H.324 Activity Group, and the Conferencing Over IP (CoIP) Activity Group. He also expanded the role of testing within IMTC to include additional protocols.
  • Mr. Toga, who has served chair of the IMTC’s Packet Conferencing and H.323 Implementers groups, the editor of the H.235 Security standard and the H.323 Implementers Guide in the ITU-T.

About IMTC
The IMTC is an industry leading non-profit organization involved in developing and testing IP and switched network multimedia interoperability specifications based on open, international standards. Through its formal working groups, the IMTC develops and facilitates specification and standards development, as well as hosts multimedia interoperability testing events and demonstrations throughout the world. Over the past three years, the IMTC has hosted more than 40 interoperability events to test T.120, H.320, H.323, H.324 and Voice over IP products and services for compatibility with each other. The San Ramon, California–based consortium comprises more than 150 member organizations from around the globe. Membership is open to any interested party, including vendors of audio, document, and video conferencing hardware and software; communications companies; teleconferencing service providers; end users; academic institutions; government agencies; and non-profit organizations. The consortium's Web site address is